Rain Rain Don’t Go Away….

14 Oct 11

I was pretty tired yesterday after my shift and looked forward to crawling into bed after a light breakfast of oatmeal and a couple hard-boiled eggs, maybe a little bacon thrown in for protein.  The next step of the plan was to wake up in time for dinner. I’ve found it’s pointless to go to bed right after work, because I’ll be awake a few hours later, but I was certain this time I would be sound asleep for hours on end.

By about 2 in the afternoon I started to stir when I heard a very faint, yet familiar sound over the hum of the air conditioner and dehumidifier. As I slowly awoke, I heard more familiar sounds but I couldn’t believe my ears. Was that thunder? Couldn’t possibly be, but the day before there was a pretty good-sized cell building up just west of here, and now there was the undeniable sound of rain drops beating against the tin roof of our trailer. I had to go explore further, I couldn’t sleep with such exciting possibilities. I walked to the door that and sure enough, the rain had already started forming puddles. I looked across the compound and it looked like a village of meerkats with people were sticking their heads out of every opening to see if it really was raining. In the immortal words of Forrest Gump we had, “little bitty stingin’ rain… and big ol’ fat rain. Rain that flew in sideways, and sometimes rain even seemed to come straight up from underneath.” Then there was a splat of lightning that had to be just over on the other side of our compound because the clap of thunder was almost instantaneous. The roof was dripping a solid stream of mud from months of dust buildup, so you had to plan accordingly which door to go out, not the ones on the side of the trailer where the roof hangs over.

After a few minutes the rain died off and I figured in this desert environment the ground would soak it all up immediately. What the ground failed to absorb, the air would certainly soak up through evaporation and add even more humidity to the already thick air and further complicating the removal of the mildewy scent from my freshly laundered towels. To be sure it was more humid, but a day later there were still puddles of water sitting around, attracting a bunch of horny little mosquitoes I’m sure.

The entire place was in awe of the rain, like we’d never seen anything like it, and we haven’t stopped talking about it since. So that should give you all an idea of the level of excitement we’re dealing with here. As I post this at 5 in the morning a couple of days later, the fog is so thick I can’t see more than 100 feet in front of me, but I can see the moon shining brightly overhead.

Gallery | This entry was posted in The Indiqatar and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to leave a comment, ask a question or just say hi

